Courses > Design

A4Q Design Thinking

The A4Q Design Thinking Foundation certification attests to an individual’s knowledge and understanding of this collaborative, innovation-seeking approach to problem solving and solutions development.

The Alliance 4 Qualification (A4Q) is the official licensor for the Design Thinking Scheme. If you are interested in becoming an accredited training provider, please contact us.

» Leading certification for Design Thinking
» Internationally recognised
» Exams are available worldwide

This course is aimed at anyone who wants to understand the theory of Design Thinking and how to apply this human-centred approach to achieve real business value.


This course is aimed at anyone who wants to understand the theory of Design Thinking and how to apply this human-centred approach to achieve real business value. This includes:

  • Product Owners
  • Scrum Masters
  • Product Managers
  • Software Engineers
  • UX Designers
  • Designers

A4Q Design Thinking: Exam Details

The examination for the Design Thinking is based on the respective curriculum. The full examination areas are well defined in the Learning Objectives of the curricula. Consequently, the Learning Objectives provide the framework for the exams. The testing format is multiple choice.
Candidates eligible to participate in a Design Thinking exam either have attended an accredited course or they are participants of an open exam.
A4Q Design Thinking has its inherent value as a certification and will be of benefit to individuals seeking to develop and attest to skills in this field.  A4Q Design Thinking is also a mandatory module for the A4Q Service Designer qualification.

The exam for the Design Thinking is available at:

Anyone wishing to take the Business Service Design exam is recommended to attend and accredited training course. Exams can also be taken following self-study.

The Syllabus can be downloaded here:

The Sample Exam can be downloaded here:

The examination for the A4Q Design Thinking Certification is based on the learning objectives in the syllabus.

The examination format is multiple choice questions (40 questions).


Minutes per exam


Extra time for non-native speakers.


Score is required to pass the exam. 26 of 40 marks.

Mandatory Modules for the A4Q Certified Service Designer

A Certified Service Designer provides a holistic approach to unifying the customer experience and business objectives while implementing a human-centered element to design and business innovation.

Business Service Design has an in depth focus on business systems, processes and services behind the customer journey, focusing on their impact on customer satisfaction.

Participants will be able to demonstrate an understanding of Business Service Design principles, approaches and techniques.

The A4Q Business Service Design certificate assesses a candidate’s ability to:

  • The four thinking frameworks that combine to provide a powerful toolkit behind innovative, customer-centric service design: Systems Thinking, Service Thinking, Design Thinking and Lean Thinking.
  • Being able to explore the business services, their value propositions and the customer perspective.
  • Being able to identify where changes are required.
  • Being able to apply useful Service Design techniques to drive business innovation.

In the digital age, it has become critical to understand more about the organization’s customers and what motivates, delights and even annoys them. CX (Customer Experience) Analysis is critical to business success. The A4Q CX Analysis certification looks in depth at the customer experience, and how an organization can transform its existing processes to offer engaged, responsive and connected customer experiences.

The A4Q CX Analysis certificate assesses a candidate’s ability to:

  • Tune in to organization’s customers, action the insights and add value across multiple touchpoints.
  • Analyze the organization’s view of CX; the difference between CX and UX and why it matters; customer gains and pains and organizational maturity.
  • Understand a seamless, positive customer journey with touchpoints across all digital platforms engages customers and improves customer satisfaction.
  • Understand key customer experience analysis techniques for effective business service design.

Elective Modules for the A4Q Certified Service Designer

The A4Q Business Service Architecture certification will focus on the service architecture and its component elements, within the context of enterprise, business and solution architecture.

Topics covered include architectural principles; service definition; value stream modelling and analysis; capability requirements and modelling; the T shaped professional; service measures and controls and a framework for service agility.

The A4Q Business Acumen certification covers the knowledge, skills, understanding and perspective needed to develop good business acumen.

Topics covered include types of business model; leadership and decision-making skills; the importance of a growth mindset for senior leadership teams; available business models and financial and data literacy.

The A4Q Service Design Consultancy certification covers the key skills required to deliver effective business design consultancy, including the consultancy lifecycle and service portfolio, the consultancy mind set, stakeholder engagement, investigation and negotiation techniques, and situation diagnosis.